Jay Banks' narrow election to the City Council's District B seat was confirmed Monday morning after an official recount.

Banks' opponent, Seth Bloom requested the recount after a slim defeat by 131 votes. Bloom gained an additional four votes, while Banks gained one more vote in the recount.

The seat is held by LaToya Cantrell, who was elected the next mayor of New Orleans.

District B covers Central City, the Garden District, the Lower Garden District, Broadmoor and parts of Uptown, Mid-City and Bayou St. John.

Banks will take office in May of 2018.