Members of the Eyewitness News staff were honored with six regional Emmy award nominations, including for news excellence, investigative reporting and environmental reporting. The Suncoast Emmy nominations were announced Sunday.

The entire news staff is nominated for news excellence, for an entry which included highlights of investigative reporting, breaking news, feature and public affairs coverage, as well as a special edition of Eyewitness News at 6 focusing on gun violence.

Also, the station's "NOPD: Call Waiting" series by reporters Katie Moore, David Hammer, Mike Perlstein and photographer/editor T.J. Pipitone is nominated in the investigative reporting series category. The ongoing series, produced in partnership with the New Orleans Advocate, has also been honored with a regional Edward R. Murrow award and a national Sigma Delta Chi award. Just last week it was honored with awards from the Louisiana Associated Press for both investigative reporting an in-depth series.

Moore and Pipitone are also nominated in the environmental reporting category for their stories on problems with the St. Joseph, La. water supply.

Anchor Eric Paulsen and photographer/editor Tom Moore are nominated in the societal concerns category for their "Taking a Stand" report from May showing how quickly a dispute can escalate into violence.

Anchors Karen Swensen and Mike Hoss, along with photographer/editor Brian Lukas and executive producer Dominic Massa, are nominated in the news special category, for their documentary on the 10th anniversary of Hurricane Katrina, "Katrina: 10 Days, 10 Years," aired in August 2015.

Photographer/editor Adam Copus, a previous Emmy winner and nominee, is nominated in the video essay category.

The news excellence entry included the investigative reporting series, “NOPD : Call Waiting," as well as breaking news coverage of the Lafayette movie theater shooting and excerpts from reports aired as part of the station's anti-violence campaign, "Taking a Stand."

Other highlights of the entry were David Hammer’s reporting on offshore oil safety in the wake of the BP disaster; several Meg Farris medical reports; Bill Capo and Brian Lukas' reports from Chicago on local winners of the James Beard Awards; Karen Swensen and Brian Lukas' coverage of Pope Francis’ U.S. visit, as well as clips from "The 504" talk show produced by Sheba Turk and Caegan Moore.

The Suncoast regional Emmy award competition is open to entries from Louisiana, Alabama, Florida and Puerto Rico.

Winners will be announced Dec. 3.