Email: | Twitter: @WWLTV

WASHINGTON -- President Obama has approved individual disaster assistance for people in south Louisiana affected by Hurricane Isaac.

The individual disaster assistance declaration now covers9 parishes: Orleans, Jefferson, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. John the Baptist, St. Tammany, Ascension, Lafourche, and Livingston parishes.

The funds cover a wide range of areas, including housing, home repairs or replacement, disaster-related personal expenses (clothing, household and other items), cleanup items and disaster-related damages to vehicles.

The process, which is familiar to thousands of Louisianians affected by Hurricanes Katrina and Rita, begins with applications which are taken online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA.

Read or Share this story: