Michael Luke /Eyewitness News

NEW ORLEANS -- LaToya Cantrell wins the District B run-off, edging Dana Kaplan for the New Orleans City Council seat.

Eyewitness News election analyst Greg Rigamer projected Cantrell the winner around 9:30 p.m. Rigamer said Cantrell was able to win because of a higher crossover black-white vote than Dana Kaplan. Cantrell ended up finishing with 4,633 votes (54 percent), while Kaplan finished with 3,993 votes (46 percent).

'They (the voters of District B) can expect hard work, my tireless work ethic, they can expect a better quality of life, that's something we will work toward on a daily basis,' Cantrell said residents of her district can expect when she takes office. Voters can also expect Cantrell to be an 'independent voice,' she said. 'They can expect fair, honest governing.'

Cantrell takes over for Diana Bajoie. Bajoie was appointed to the seat to fill the vacancy for District B after Stacy Head, currently the council president, narrowly defeated Cynthia Willard-Lewis in the election for council at-large in April.

Cantrell was bolstered with endorsements from Head and Councilwoman Kristin Gisleson Palmer to take over the District B seat, and she overcame Kaplan's heavyweight endorsements from Mayor Mitch Landrieu and Congressman Cedric Richmond.

The district covers parts of Uptown, the Garden District, Broadmoor, CBD and Central City.

Read or Share this story: