Dominic Massa / EyewitnessNews |Twitter:@DMassaWWL

Qualifiying ended Friday for the April 5 municipal elections in Kenner and St. Tammany Parish, with the biggest news that Slidell's mayor and police chief were re-elected without opposition and Kenner's new police chief will be a current deputy chief who was the only candidate to sign up for the post.

According to Secretary of State Tom Schedler's office, no one signed up to run against Slidell Mayor Freddy Drennan and Police Chief Randy Smith by Friday's 5 p.m. deadline, meaning both men will be re-elected without opposition.

In Kenner, no one else signed up to face Deputy Police Chief Michael Glaser in the race to replace his boss, current Chief Steve Caraway, meaning Glaser will be elected to the post. Glaser has been with the Kenner Police department since 1990. Caraway could not run again because of term limits.

The race for St. Tammany Parish coroner, to replace disgraced former coroner Dr. Peter Galvan, will feature four candidates: Rob Muller, Charles Preston, Adrian Talbot and Leanne Truehart. The four are running to fill the remainder of the term held by Galvan, who was sentenced this week to 24 months in federal prison on corruption charges.

There are also Slidell City Council races on the April 5 ballot, with only at-large member Sam Abney and District G council member Bill Borchett drawing no opposition, and being re-elected. Click here to see how the other Slidell Council races shape up.

In Kenner, Mayor Mike Yenni will face two challengers in his bid for a second term. Both of the other candidates are frequent critics of his administration: Al Morella and Walt Bennetti, founder of the group Citizens for a Better Kenner.

Kenner District 4 City Council member Maria DeFrancesch drew no challengers in her bid to become an at-large council member, so she is elected to the Division A post. Current District 5 council member Kent Denapolis signed up for the Division B at-large post, and will face two challengers: Scarlett Alaniz and Keith Conley, who recently resigned as Kenner city attorney. Current at-large members Jeannie Black and Michele Branigan cannot run because of term limits.

In other Kenner City Council races, District 3 incumbent Keith Reynaud is re-elected without opposition. In District 4, to replace DeFrancesch, only Leonard Cline qualified, meaning he is elected to the post. Former Mayor Phil Capitano will face Dominick Impastato in the race for the council's District 5 seat. For candidates in other district council races, click here.

Four people signed up to run for Harahan Police Chief, including former chief Peter Dale, as well as Al Majeau, Darlene Schwartz and Tim Walker. Chief Mac Dickinson resigned in October, leading to the April election.

The primary election is April 5, with a runoff May 3 if needed.

Read or Share this story: