Ted Lewis / Written for the LSWA

BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) -- St. Augustine and St. Thomas More carried the burden of being the No. 1 seeds going into the Class 5A boy and girls high school basketball playoffs. Both teams lived up to their billings by capturing state championships.

So it should be no surprise the best players from the best teams -- Javan Felix of St. Augustine and Brooklyn Arceneaux of St. Thomas More -- were selected as the Most Valuable Players for the Class 5A All-State teams chosen by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

Shelly Laprarie of Denham Springs was selected as the girls Coach of the Year after the Yellow Jackets advanced to the state semifinals. John Ehret's Allen Collins claimed boys Coach of the Year honors.

Laprarie helps lead the local contingent that includes four players who made one of the two 5A squads.

Felix, a 6-foot junior, averaged a modest 12.8 points per game, but that was enough to lead a well-balanced St. Aug offense. He played point guard and averaged 5.0 assists and 4.5 steals per game.

Arceneaux, a 5-10 senior, didn't have eye-popping numbers, either. She averaged 13.2 points per game, 4.9 rebounds and 1.6 assists for a team with an average margin of victory of more than 20 points, meaning she often sat out big stretches of the second half.

Collins' Ehret team finished 27-3 in the regular season and reached the Top 28, where the Patriots lost to Scotlandville in the semifinals.

Laprarie's Denham Springs squad had a sparkling 30-2 record and reached the Ladies Top 28 for the second year, this time falling to Southwood in the semifinals.

Scotlandville's Levie Wright, who averaged 16.5 points per game, made the boys' first team. One of Laprarie's players, Ciera Sibley, was part of the girls' first team after averaging 15.5 points per game. Sibley averaged 22 points during the playoffs.

Bernard Kinchen of Denham Springs posted an 18.5 average and made the boys' second team, while Dutchtown's Ka'Nesheia Cobbins was voted to the girls' second team after averaging 16.5 points and 8.9 rebounds.

Schane Rillieux of Brother Martin, Elfrid Payton of John Ehret and Mikel Henry of Hammond complete the boys' first team.

Rillieux, who averaged 14.6 points, helped the 2010 Class 5A champions get back to the Top 28 where they lost to St. Augustine. Payton was the District 9-5A MVP, averaging 12.8 points, 5.2 assists and 4.1 steals for the Patriots, who finished the regular-season ranked No. 1.

Henry led Hammond to a share of the District 7-5A title, averaging 19.6 points.

The second team consists of Josh Hagins of Airline, Fred Joseph of Westgate, Brian Singleton of Destrehan and Chris Mitchell of Natchitoches-Central.

Hagins, who averaged 15 points, 7.2 rebounds and 7. 1 assists, got Airline to the quarterfinals. Joseph, the District 4-5A MVP, averaged 19.8 points, 6.7 assists and 2.1 steals for Westgate. He had 34 points in his team's quarterfinal loss to Scotlandville.

A junior, Singleton is the two-time District 6-5A MVP who averaged 17.3 points and 7.8 rebounds this season. Mitchell averaged 19 points in district play for the Chiefs.

Kourtney Pennywell of Southwood-Shreveport, Tori Scott of John Ehret and Emani White of Chapelle were the other first-team girls' selections.

Pennywell, a 5-9 sophomore, led her team to the championship game, averaging 14 points. She had 14 points and nine rebounds in the title game loss to St. Thomas More.

Scott, a returning first-team all-stater, averaged 14.7 points for an Ehret team that reached the quarterfinals.

White suffered a broken leg in practice that kept her out of Chapelle's semifinal game against St. Thomas More. Before that, she averaged 14.5 points for the Chipmunks. She is a two-time District 10-5A MVP.

Also on the girls' second team were Toree Mason of Byrd, KeKe Veal of St. Thomas More, Charity Robinson of Ouachita and Hannah Tracey of Mandeville

Mason averaged 16.7 points for a Byrd team that reached the quarterfinals. Veal backed Arceneaux with 11.1 points and 5.5 rebounds per game for St. Thomas More and was named the MVP of the Ladies Top 28.

Cobbins led Dutchtown to the 5A playoffs with averages of 16.5 points and 8.9 rebounds, while Robinson had a double-double norm, averaging 15 points, 12 rebounds for Ouachita.

Tracey, a returning second-team pick, was the MVP in District 7-5A and averaged 13.3 points in leading the Skippers to the quarterfinals.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Read or Share this story: