WWL-TV has been awarded a national Edward R. Murrow award for sports reporting,presented Tuesday by the Radio Television Digital NewsAssociation.

The award honors former sports anchor/reporter Scott Cody and photographer/editor Adam Copus fora May 2011 profile of Jay Rink. T

Thestory was also awarded a Suncoast Emmy award and regional Murrow award.

This is the second national Murrow award presented to WWL-TV since 2006.

Other regional Murrow awards this past year were for best web site and best use of video, for the work of anchor Mike Hoss and photographer T.J. Pipitone.

The award will be presented in New York in October.

National Murrow awards were also presented to three of WWL-TV's sister stations, also owned by Belo. CBSNews and CBSRadio News earned fourMurrows.

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971.Since that time, WWL-TV has been honored with 35 Murrow Awards, both regional and national.
Read or Share this story: