Email: | Twitter: @WWLTV

WWL-TV was awarded a national Edward R. Murrow award for sports reportingMonday night at a ceremony in New York.

The award, presented by the Radio Television Digital News Association, honored former sports anchor/reporter Scott Cody and photographer/editor Adam Copus for a May 2011 profile of Jay Rink. The former Brother Martin High School and Tulane University athlete is now battling ALS, or Lou Gehrig's Disease.

'Through his ordeal, Jay Rink helps usto understand the importance of family support and unwavering love,'said NBC News anchor Lester Holt in the awards presentation.

WWL-TV was one of just 67 news organizations from across the country honored with a national Murrow award.

Cody, now a sales marketing executive at WWL-TV, accepted the award on the station's behalf. It is the second national Murrow award presented to WWL-TV since 2006.

The profile of Jay Rink was also awarded a Suncoast Emmy award and regional Murrow award.

Other regional Murrow awards for WWL this past year were for best web site and best use of video, for the work of anchor Mike Hoss and photographer T.J. Pipitone.

National Murrow awards were also presented Monday to three of WWL-TV's sister stations, also owned by Belo. CBS News and CBS Radio News earned four national Murrow awards.

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Since that time, WWL-TV has been honored with 35 Murrow Awards, both regional and national.
Read or Share this story: