Email: | Twitter: @WWLTV

Two Louisiana high school students, both from Covington schools, have been honored as the state winners of the 2013 Wendy's High School Heisman Award.

Carley Boyce, of St. Scholastica Academy, and Zachary Albright, of St Paul's High School, were the Louisiana winners. They now advance to compete for the national award, which honors students' hard work, dedication in athletics, academics and community leadership.

'Carley and Zachary are exceptional examples of well-rounded students who excel academically, lead and serve others with the passion and persistence of a Heisman winner,' said Archie Griffin, two-time collegiate Heisman Trophy winner from Ohio State University.

'While these students are recognized as leaders in their communities, the Wendy's High School Heisman Award gives them the national recognition their achievements have earned.'

Boyce and Albright were chosen from 48,000 applicants.

The Wendy's High School Heisman Award, in its 20th year, is awarded in conjunction with the collegiate Heisman.

Read or Share this story: