Douglas Robson, USA TODAY Sports

Novak Djokovic defeated Roger Federer 6-7, 6-4, 7-6, 5-7, 6-4 Sunday to win the Wimbledon men's title.

Djokovic was serving for the match at 5-3 in the fourth set but Federer broke him twice and won the set forcing the match to go the distance.

Djokovic had been 5-1 in five-set matches at Wimbledon and Federer was 6-3.

Prior to the match Djokovic had won a single Wimbledon title in 2011.

Federer was a seven-time winner with the last one coming in 2012.

Only Pete Sampras and Federer have won seven men's titles at Wimbledon.

Defending champion Andy Murray was knocked out in the quarterfinals this year.

On Saturday, Petra Kvitova defeated Eugenie Bouchard 6-3, 6-0 to win her second women's title at Wimbledon.

Read or Share this story: