Breaking News
More () »

N.O. Press Club names Charisse Gibson best On Air Talent; WWL captures 12 awards

The station was honored for Best On Air Talent, Best Sportscast, Best Sports Show, Best Web Site, and the top videography award.

NEW ORLEANS — Anchor Charisse Gibson, Sports Director Doug Mouton and Photographer Adam Copus were big winners Saturday night at the New Orleans Press Club Awards gala as WWL-TV took home 12 first place awards.

Gibson, who has recently won a National Murrow award and Suncoast Emmys for her work including The Talk, a special show and town hall on race relations and tough conversations that black parents have with their sons along with a documentary on a nearly half-century old standoff with the NOPD and the Black Panthers, was named Best On Air Talent.

Doug Mouton was the winner of both Best Sportscast and Best Sports Show, and Photographer Adam Copus won two first place videography awards and the prestigious President’s Award for photography as the best video entry overall.

In all WWL-TV had 32 awards that included first, second and third place finishes.

WWL-TV’s first place finishes were across several categories including television videography, news, promotion, sports, digital and on-air talent.

Story continues below

The Press Club also gave Lifetime Achievement Awards to Times-Picayune editorial cartoonist Walt Handelsman and TV broadcaster Nancy Parker Boyd, who was remembered posthumously with a moving video and an acceptance speech by her husband Glen Boyd. 

The first place awards were for the following:

Breaking News Coverage – Nursing home disaster after Hurricane Ida: Erika Ferrando, Derek Waldrip, Michael Bean.

Best On Air Talent – Charisse Gibson

Best Web Site – Tom Planchet, Sam Winstrom, Kevin Dupuy

Best Sports Show – Doug Mouton, 4th Down on Four

Best Sportscast – Doug Mouton

Best Photo Essay – Adam Ney, Louisiana town celebrates Heisman Trophy winner

Best Public Affairs – Devin Bartolotta, Sam Winstrom – Evacuee Desk

Best Station Promotion – Monica Resh, Paul Corcoran

Best Video Editing – Derek Waldrip

Best Breaking News Videography – Adam Copus, Powerless, but not Powerless

Best Video Storytelling – Adam Copus, Asian Hate

Best use of Facebook – Tom Planchet, Sam Winstrom, Kevin Dupuy

President’s Photography Award – Adam Copus

Honored with second and third place awards were:

Russell Drewery – General News Videography

T. J. Pipitone – Feature Videography                 

Adam Ney – Sports Videography

David Hammer – Breaking News Print Reporting, Investigative TV reporting

Chris McCrory – General News Print Reporting

Tom Planchet – Editorial

Payton Malone – Breaking News Reporting, Best Weathercast

Mike McDaniel – Best General News Reporting

Meg Farris, Derek Waldrip – Health Reporting

David Hammer, T.J. Pipitone – Government Reporting

Tom Planchet, Sam Winstrom, Kevin Dupuy – Best Use of Twitter

Karen Swensen – Best On Air Talent

Ian Kramer – Best Newscast

Torre Josey – Best Planned Event

Jamicah McNeil – Best Station Promotion

Ricardo LeCompte – Best Sports Feature, Best Sports Show, Best Sportscast

Doug Mouton – Best Sports Special

RELATED: WWL-TV honored with 3 Regional Murrow Awards for news coverage

RELATED: WWL wins 5 Suncoast Emmys for news coverage

Before You Leave, Check This Out